Honors and Awards Committee Report Lynn Welton, Mahri Leonard-Fleckman, co-chairs November 19, 2024

The Honors and Awards Committee took on a new committee co-chair this year, Mahri Leonard-Fleckman. Mahri has served on the Honors and Awards committee for almost two complete terms, before beginning her term as chair at the beginning of 2024. The co-chair system, combined with Mahri's longstanding experience on the Honors and Awards Committee should help ease the transition when Lynn Welton completes her second and final term as chair next year.

The committee also welcomed two new members in 2024, Julian Chike (serving on the Cross sub-committee) and Rocco Palermo (serving on the Wright sub-committee). The Honors and Awards committee thanks Ian Jones, who completed his second term on the committee at the end of 2023.

In 2024, the committee received a total of 16 nominations across all of its service awards. For consideration for its book awards in 2024, the committee received 19 nominations for the Frank Moore Cross Award. We also received 12 nominations for the G. Ernest Wright Award, and 14 nominations for the Nancy Lapp Popular Book Award. 19 posters were considered for the Joy Ungerleider poster award. The committee also considered 15 candidates for the new Student Paper Award.

The list of 2024 awardees will be made available after the Members' Meeting on Friday, November 22. The 2023 awards recipients are listed below.

DEI Actions

One of the primary challenges that the Honors and Awards Committee consistently experiences with regard to DEI is in encouraging greater numbers of nominations. Award winners can obviously only be selected if they are nominated for awards, but nominations from within ASOR's membership are generally very low. For service awards, many nominations come from within ASOR's leadership, and for book awards, most nominations come from publishers rather than ASOR members. This has been a longstanding issue, but particularly affects the diversity of award recipients because there are biases in the groups that tend to nominate themselves and/or their colleagues for awards. Marginalized and under-represented groups are less likely to consider nominating themselves or others. Many members of ASOR likely have never even considered nominating someone for an award, and we need to find ways of decreasing this sense of inertia and encouraging a wider pool from within the broader ASOR membership to nominate their peers.

One piece of feedback that has been received by the Honors and Awards Committee has to do with the perceived difficulty of preparing nominations for awards during a busy time of the year,

and/or the difficulty of compiling the relevant information about individuals' service, either within or outside of ASOR, to submit such a nomination. As such, the committee has been experimenting with the creation of a Nominations Sub-Committee, whose role will be to help solicit and prepare nominations for various awards, with the aim of lowering the barrier to nominating individuals for awards and increasing nomination numbers. This year, the Nominations Sub-Committee consisted of Susan Ackerman, whose past experience within ASOR makes her well-positioned to know about individuals' past service and to help solicit nominations. The Honors and Awards Committee is continuing to discuss how to improve and further develop this Nominations Sub-Committee to achieve the goals outlined above.

Honors and Awards Committee Membership

Lynn Welton, Co-Chair (until December 31, 2025) Mahri Leonard-Fleckman (until December 31, 2026)

Cross Sub-Committee:

Ra'anan Boustan (Class of 2026, 2nd term) (Student Paper Sub-Committee)
Jessie DeGrado (Class of 2026, 2nd term) (Joy Ungerleider Poster Sub-Committee)
Susan Ackerman (Class of 2025, 1st term) (Nominations Sub-Committee)
Julian Chike, (Class of 2026, 1st term) (Student Paper Sub-Committee)

Wright Sub-Committee:

Bob Mullins (Class of 2025, 2nd term) (Student Paper Sub-Committee) Pinar Durgun (Class of 2025, 2nd term) (Joy Ungerleider Poster Sub-Committee) JP Dessel (Class of 2025, 1st term) (Student Paper Sub-Committee) Rocco Palermo (Class of 2026, 1st term) (Joy Ungerleider Poster Sub-Committee)

2023 Awardees

Service Awards:

Charles U. Harris Service Award: Paul Flesher

ASOR Membership Service Award: Leigh Anne Lieberman, Tiffany Earley-Spadoni and

Melissa Cradic

ASOR Membership Service Award: Piotr Michalowski **ASOR Membership Service Award:** Beth Alpert Nakhai

P. E. MacAllister Field Archaeology Award: Bethany Walker

Community Engagement and Public Outreach Award: Marilyn Lundberg Melzian

W.F. Albright Service Award (ACOR): Megan Perry W.F. Albright Service Award (ACOR): James Wiseman

Book Awards:

Frank Moore Cross Award: *Megan Nutzman*, Contested Cures: Identity and Ritual Healing in Roman and Late Antique Palestine (Edinburgh University Press)

G. Ernest Wright Award: *James Osborne*, The Syro-Anatolian City States: An Iron Age Culture (Oxford University Press)

Nancy Lapp Popular Book Award: *Amanda H. Podany*, Weavers, Scribes, and Kings: A New History of the Ancient Near East (Oxford University Press)

Other Awards:

Joy Ungerleider Poster Award: *Efrat Nakash*, Copper circulation in the southern Levant during the EBIIIA: Tell el-Hesi as a case study

Student Paper Award: *Morganne Ottobre*, Between Two Cultures: Translation and Multimodality in the Tell Fekheriyeh Inscription