

ASOR Board of Trustees Fall Meeting November 19 2023, 8:30 AM-1:00 PM CST Chicago, Ill. Hilton (Waldorf, 3rd Floor)

Preliminary Matters (8:30-8:45)

- 1. Call to Order (Sheldon Fox)
- 2. Approval of Agenda (Sheldon Fox)
- 3. Approval of the Minutes from the Spring 2023 Board Meeting (Sheldon Fox)

Elections (8:45-9:15)

- 1. Emily Miller Bonney to a second term as Treasurer (3-year term January 1, 2024-December 31, 2026)
- 2. Life Trustees (Sharon Herbert)
 - a. Carol Meyers
- 3. Board Elected Trustees (Sharon Herbert)
 - a. Solange Ashby (initial 3-year term January 1, 2024-December 31, 2026)
 - b. Ricardo St. Hilaire (initial 3-year term January 1, 2024-December 31, 2026)
 - c. Mark Lanier (5th 3-year term January 1, 2024-December 31, 2026)
- 4. Elected Institutional Representatives (Kate Grossman)
 - a. Jason Ur (2nd 3-year term January 1, 2024-December 31, 2026)
 - b. Eric Cline (initial 3-year term January 1, 2024-December 31, 2026)
- 5. Member Elected Trustees (Kate Grossman)
 - a. Theodore Burgh (4th 3-year term January 1, 2024-December 31, 2026)
 - b. Kiersten Neumann (initial 3-year term January 1, 2024-December 31, 2026)
- 6. New CCC chairs (Chuck Jones)
 - a. Co-chair for DEI Julia Troche (initial 3-year term January 1, 2024-December 31, 2026)
 - b. Chair for CAP Georgia Andreou (initial 3-year term January 1, 2024-December 31, 2026)

Financial Matters Part 1 (9:15-10:00)

- 1. Treasurer's Report (Emily Miller Bonney)
- 2. Discussion of Budget to Actual (Exhibit A), Notes to Budget to Actual (Exhibit G), Net Investment Report (Exhibit C), and Audited Financials for FY2023 (Andy Vaughn)
- 3. Finance Committee Action Items (Emily Miller Bonney and Andy Vaughn)
 - a. Action: vote to receive audited financials
 - b. Action Item: Motion to Establish Thomas Bishop Endowment (see language in Exhibit E)
 - c. Action Item: Motion to amend Investment and Spending Policy (see Exhibit D)
 - d. Action Item: Motion to approve Policies and Procedures as forwarded from Finance Committee (see Exhibit F)

ASOR 2025 and Development (10:00-10:15)(Lynn Swartz Dodd and Sheldon Fox)

Break (10:15-10:30)

Committee Reports, Reports from Overseas Research Centers, and Discussion/Action Items (10:30-11:15)

Based on Executive Committee discussion on 11/17, items 3, 5, and 6 are included for consideration with a request for feedback from Trustees. No action will be taken at this meeting.

- 1. CCC Activities (Chuck Jones)
- 2. Publications (Chuck Jones)
 - a. Reappointment of BASOR Editors (2nd 3-year term January 1, 2024-December 31, 2026)
 - b. Appointment of JCS Editors (initial 3-year term January 1, 2024-December 31, 2026)
- 3. DEI Land acknowledgement statement (Erin Darby and Sharon Herbert)
- 4. CHI activities (Jane DeRose Evans and Andy Vaughn)
- 5. Ad Hoc Committee on Contested territories language (Sharon Herbert)
- 6. Ad Hoc Committee on Governance (Emily Miller Bonney and Sharon Herbert)
- 7. News from AIAR (Jamie Fraser)
- 8. News from CAARI (Lindy Crewe)

The war in the Middle East (Sharon) (11:15-12:30)

- 1. Discussion: what we have learned after posting ASOR's statement.
- 2. Ramifications and repercussions and how should ASOR handle them?

Spring Board Meeting: May 4-5, 2024 in Alexandria, VA