Honors and Awards Committee Report Lynn Welton, chair November 17, 2022

The Honors and Awards Committee thanks Mehrnoush Soroush, who will be stepping down from her position on the committee as of the end of 2022. The committee will thus be looking for one new Wright sub-committee member for 2023. Announcements requesting nominations will be made in forthcoming *ASOR News* emails.

Committee members Bob Mullins and Pinar Durgun will be completing their first term on the committee at the end of 2022 and will be asked to stay on for a second term. The Honors and Awards Committee also welcomed one new member to the Cross sub-committee, Ted Lewis, who began his terms at the beginning of 2022.

The committee this year instituted a new award, the Community Engagement and Public Outreach Award, which will be awarded for the first time during the 2020 Virtual Annual Meeting. The description of the award is as follows:

This award recognizes individuals, teams, and organizations who have initiated outstanding educational, informational, or practical projects (including but not limited to classes, programs, exhibits, resources, events, platforms) with the goal of making subjects and information about the ancient world accessible to wider (particularly non-academic) audiences.

The Honors and Awards committee also changed the deadline for nominations for book awards this year, moving it earlier from its traditional date in September to the spring (the deadline this year was April 29). This gave the committee a longer period of time to consider the book award nominees, improving the committee's evaluations of the individual books, and helping somewhat to distribute the committee's workload so that there is less of a rush in the fall. There does not seem to have been any impact on numbers of nominations, which remained at the same level as in 2021.

In 2022, the committee received a total of 35 nominations across all of its service awards. For consideration for its book awards in 2022, the committee received 19 nominations for the Frank Moore Cross Award. We also received 25 nominations for the G. Ernest Wright Award, and 11 nominations for the Nancy Lapp Popular Book Award. 14 posters were considered for the Joy Ungerleider poster award. The committee also considered 14 candidates for the new Student Paper Award.

The list of awardees (see below) will be made available after the Members' Meeting on Friday, November 19. Each of the awardees will be featured in upcoming issues of *ASOR News*.

DEI Actions

Fieldwork and publication have traditionally been the primary kinds of activities (other than those directly related to service to ASOR) for which ASOR recognizes its members. One avenue for increasing the diversity and inclusivity of ASOR's awards is through increasing the range of activities for which ASOR rewards its members, by considering rewarding alternative kinds of service to the field that tend to be under-recognized. As a result, and as described above, the Honors and Awards Committee created the Community Engagement and Public Outreach Award. This award has been hugely successful, garnering 24 nominations (more than all the other service awards put together), which testifies to the important role that community engagement and public outreach has in the minds of ASOR's members.

The committee has also been working to create evaluation rubrics for as many of its awards as possible, to ensure that the selection criteria are transparent and fair. For example, the committee has created a rubric that is used for evaluation of the Joy Ungerleider Poster Award nominees. The criteria used in this rubric were posted on ASOR's website, along with the instructions for poster submission, so that individuals submitting their posters for nomination knew how they would be evaluated. The committee is currently in the process of creating similar rubrics for the Student Paper Award.

Honors and Awards Committee Membership

Lynn Welton, Chair

Cross Sub-Committee:

Mahri Leonard-Fleckman (Class of 2024, 2nd term) (Student Paper Sub-Committee) Ra'anan Boustan (Class of 2023, 1st term) (Student Paper Sub-Committee) Jessie DeGrado (Class of 2021, 1st term) (Joy Ungerleider Poster Sub-Committee) Ted Lewis (Class of 2024, 1st term) (Joy Ungerleider Poster Sub-Committee)

Wright Sub-Committee:

Ian Jones (Class of 2023, 2nd term) (Joy Ungerleider Poster Sub-Committee) Bob Mullins (Class of 2022, 1st term) (Student Paper Sub-Committee) Pinar Durgun (Class of 2022, 1st term) (Joy Ungerleider Poster Sub-Committee) Mehrnoush Soroush (1st term, stepping down as of December 31, 2022) (Student Paper Sub-Committee)

2022 Awardees

Service Awards:

Charles U. Harris Service Award: Richard Coffman ASOR Membership Service Award: Ann-Marie Knoblauch ASOR Membership Service Award: Helen Dixon W.F. Albright Service Award (ACOR): John Oleson P. E. MacAllister Field Archaeology Award: Glenn Schwartz Community Engagement and Public Outreach Award: Melissa Cradic & Samuel Pfister

Book Awards:

Frank Moore Cross Award: Carolina López-Ruiz, Phoenicians and the Making of the Mediterranean (Harvard University Press)
G. Ernest Wright Award: Andrea De Giorgi and Asa Eger, Antioch: A History (Routledge)
Nancy Lapp Popular Book Award: Paul Collins, The Sumerians (Reaktion)

Other Awards:

Joy Ungerleider Poster Award: *Brady Liss*, Digitally Cleaning the Section: Using Archived Photographs to Reconstruct Stratigraphic Sections in Faynan, Jordan

Student Paper Award: *Alia Fares,* Archaeology at your Doorstep - Building Heritage Awareness on the Lebanon Mountain Trail and for Beirut's Traumatized Youth