Honors and Awards Committee Report Lynn Welton, chair December 10, 2020

The Honors and Awards Committee thanks John Kampen, a long-term member of the committee who is completing his second term on the committee at the end of 2020. Committee member Ian Jones is also completing his first term on the committee in 2020 and has agreed to stay on for a second term.

The Honors and Awards Committee has recently voted to increase the size of the committee by two individuals, one each for the Wright and Cross award sub-committees. This size increase is intended to alleviate problems arising when committee members have written or contributed to books that have been nominated for awards. According to the committee's Conflict of Interest policy, in these circumstances committee members should recuse themselves from voting on the award in question, and this has in the past created issues with sub-committee size for the Wright and Cross Awards. The committee will thus be looking for two new Cross sub-committee members for 2021 (including the replacement for John Kampen), and for one new member for the Wright sub-committee. Announcements requesting nominations will be made in forthcoming *ASOR News* emails.

The committee voted this year to create a new award on a trial basis, the Student Paper Award, which was awarded for the first time during the 2020 Virtual Annual Meeting (see awardee list below). The description of the award is as follows:

This award is conferred upon the author(s) of a paper presented during the Annual Meeting that conveys the results of a study about ancient Near Eastern and wider Mediterranean societies in a clear, understandable and convincing fashion. The first author and presenter of the paper must be a registered student at the time of presentation in order to be eligible for consideration for this award.

In 2020, the committee received a total of 16 nominations across all of its service awards. For consideration for its book awards in 2020, the committee received 21 nominations for 19 books for the Frank Moore Cross Award (some books were nominated more than once). We also received 17 nominations for 17 books for the G. Ernest Wright Award, and 19 nominations for 10 books for the Nancy Lapp Popular Book Award. 32 posters were considered for the Joy Ungerleider poster award. The committee also considered 18 candidates for the new Student Paper Award.

The 2020 awardees selected by the committee received their awards at the Members' Meeting at the Virtual Annual Meeting, and are listed below. Each of the awardees will be featured in upcoming issues of *ASOR News*.

2020 Awardees

Service Awards:

ASOR Membership Service Award: Laura Mazow

ASOR Membership Service Award: *Emily Miller Bonney*

ASOR Membership Service Award: Christopher Rollston and Eric Cline

W.F. Albright Service Award (ACOR): Nisreen Abu al-Shaikh W.F. Albright Service Award (CAARI): Achilleas Demetriades

W.F. Albright Service Award (Damascus Committee): Lisa Cooper

P. E. MacAllister Field Archaeology Award: Mary Voigt

Book Awards:

Special Recognition Book Award: *Punar Durgun,* An Educator's Handbook for Teaching about the Ancient World (Archaeopress)

Frank Moore Cross Award: *Theodore J. Lewis*, The Origin and Character of God: Ancient Israelite Religion Through the Lens of Divinity (Oxford University Press)

G. Ernest Wright Award: *Raphael Greenberg,* The Archaeology of the Bronze Age Levant (Cambridge University Press)

Nancy Lapp Popular Book Award: *D. Fairchild Ruggles*, Tree of Pearls: The Extraordinary Architectural Patronage of the 13th-Century Egyptian Slave-Queen Shajar al-Durr (Oxford University Press)

Other Awards:

Joy Ungerleider Poster Award: Rachel Banks, Cassandra M. DeGaglia, Amy Dixon, Kara Larson, and James W. Hardin, The Spaces Between: Spatial Reconstruction of a Proposed Iron Age IIB Domestic House at Tel Halif, Israel

Student Paper Award: Noam Cohen, How to Talk about Domestic Abuse in Old Babylonian