Honors and Awards Committee Report Lynn Welton, chair May 6, 2020

The Honors and Awards Committee thanks two long-term members who completed their terms on the committee in 2019, Hanan Charaf and Laura Mazow. Laura Mazow deserves particular recognition, as she had acted as chair of the Honors and Awards Committee for many years. In Laura's place, Honors and Awards committee member Lynn Welton took up the position of chair, and the committee welcomed two new members beginning in 2020, Pinar Durgun and Robert Mullins.

The deadline for service award nominations for 2020 is September 11, while the deadline for book awards is September 18. Nominations can be made using the online forms available on the Honors and Awards page on the ASOR website (<u>http://www.asor.org/about-asor/honors-awards/</u>) or by email to <u>programs@asor.org</u>. Due to the ongoing coronavirus situation, flexibility in the current awards nomination deadlines or procedures may be considered if deemed necessary as circumstances become clearer in the coming months.

In 2019, the committee received a total of 22 nominations across all of its service awards, often with several nominations for particular individuals. For consideration for its book awards in 2019, the committee received 20 nominations for 17 books for the Frank Moore Cross Award (some books were nominated more than once). We also received 16 nominations for 15 books for the G. Ernest Wright Award, and 11 nominations for the Nancy Lapp Popular Book Award. 21 posters were considered for the Joy Ungerleider poster award.

The 2019 awardees selected by the committee received their awards at the Members' Meeting at the Annual Meeting in San Diego, and are listed below. Each of the awardees is being featured in turn in *ASOR News*; some of these features have already appeared, and the remainder will continue to appear in upcoming newsletters throughout the summer and fall.

2019 Awardees

Service Awards:

Richard J. Scheuer Medal: Susan Ackerman Charles U. Harris Service Award: Lawrence T. Geraty ASOR Membership Service Award: Gary Arbino ASOR Membership Service Award: Geoff Emberling ASOR Membership Service Award: Randall (Randy) Younker W.F. Albright Service Award (ACOR): Randolph B. Old W.F. Albright Service Award (CAARI): Birgitta Lindros Wohl P. E. MacAllister Field Archaeology Award: Amnon Ben-Tor Book Awards:

Frank Moore Cross Award: *Sidnie White Crawford,* Scribes and Scrolls at Qumran (Wm. B. Eerdmans)

G. Ernest Wright Award: *Assaf Yasur-Landau, Eric H. Cline and Yorke M. Rowan,* The Social Archaeology of the Levant (Cambridge University Press)

Nancy Lapp Popular Book Award: *Kara Cooney,* When Women Ruled the World: Six Queens of Egypt (National Geographic)

Joy Ungerleider Poster Award: Christopher J. Davey, Luis R. Siddall, Carla A. Raymond and Joseph J. Bevitt, Hidden Text: Imaging and reading an ancient tablet in an envelope