## Committee Report Cultural Heritage Committee May 2020

The Cultural Heritage Committee, which had been fairly quiet since its inception, was given a new push by Susan Ackerman at her last annual meeting: the committee elected a new chair, who began the process of revivifying the membership of the committee, with the help of committee member Lynn Schwartz Dodd.

During December and January, members of the committee who were still active, convened by email and phone to formally organize the committee membership, which had not been included in the inclusion of the committee in the ASOR By-Laws. We agreed that we would like to have 3 members on the committee from the areas where ASOR has overseas projects, and one member from the Early Career Scholars; we posted an open call on the ASOR website and got a gratifying number of self-nominations. These were supplemented by nominations from the committee itself.

Through an internal election the committee maintained it goal in membership, with members from Israel and Jordan; an early-career scholar; a member involved in cultural heritage law, a member more connected to government granting agencies; a member working for a major museum; and several who are academics.

The committee has been working with Andy Vaughn, who is an ex-officio non-voting member of the committee, as he explores grant opportunities for ASOR, and with Sharon Herbert (also ex-officio, non-voting) consulting about specific cultural heritage issues within and without ASOR. We have also discussed the recent AIA changes in publication policy, and sent our views to the Publications Committee for their review, as the AIA asked ASOR to consider making changes in our own policy. Finally, the committee has reflected upon the ASOR initiatives, asking that cultural heritage move from being number 8 on the list to a higher consideration overall.

Respectfully submitted,

Jane DeRose Evans

Chair, Cultural Heritage Committee