SUPPLEMENT TO PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO THE BYLAWS

After the Executive Director circulated the proposed amendments to the Bylaws on April 21, 2020, we received the following two proposed additional amendments for your consideration:

1. Preamble to the Standing ASOR Committee provisions (Sections 5.14-5.20) should be changed from:

Subject to approval by the Executive Committee, the Chairs Coordinating Council, in

	consultation with the Committee Chair, shall appoint at least (_) persons per year to serve staggered terms to act as a Committee.
	TO
	Subject to approval by the Chairs Coordinating Council, the Committee Chair shall consult with the existing Committee and appoint at least (_) persons per year to serve staggered terms to act as a Committee.
	2. Assuming the above proposed change to the Standing ASOR Committee provisions
(Se	ections 5.14-5.20) is approved, it is further proposed that Section 5.15 (Cultural Heritage

Committee) will read as follows with the following additional amendment highlighted in bold and

Section 5.15. Cultural Heritage Committee. Subject to approval by the Chairs Coordinating Council, the Committee Chair shall consult with the existing Committee and appoint at least two (2) persons per year to serve staggered terms to act as a Cultural Heritage Committee. All Committee members must be Individual Members of ASOR. At least three members shall be from countries in Southwest Asia or North Africa which host ASOR projects or programs; one committee member shall be a member of the Early Career Scholars Committee. The President shall be a voting ex-officio member of the Committee. The Executive Director shall be a non-voting ex-officio member of the Committee. The Cultural Heritage Committee shall advise the President, the Executive Director, the Board, and other ASOR leaders regarding initiatives ASOR might undertake either individually or jointly with other bodies in the field of cultural heritage. With the approval of the Chairs Coordinating Council, the Chair of the Committee may appoint subcommittees as needed.

Respectfully,

italics:

Richard L. Coffman Board Chair May 11, 2020