

ASOR Board of Trustees Meeting Goodwin Boardroom, Meade Hall Virginia Theological Seminary 3737 Seminary Rd. Alexandria, VA April 6, 2019 9:00am-1:00pm EDT

# Preliminary Matters (9:00-9:15am)

- 1. Call to Order and Introductions
- 2. Welcome from Melody Knowles, Vice President of Academic Affairs and Associate Professor of Old Testament, Virginia Theological Seminary
- 3. Approval of Agenda
- 4. Approval of the Minutes from the November Board Meeting (November 18, 2018)
- 5. Approval of the Minutes from the January Board Conference Call (January 7, 2019)

## Business Items (9:15-10:45am)

- 6. Officers Nominations Committee (Joe Greene, for Hanan Charaf)
  6a. Richard Coffman, for a second three-year term as Board Chair (January
  1, 2020-December 31, 2022): biographical sketch posted at
  http://www.asor.org/hidden/board-info.
  - 6b. Sharon Herbert, for an initial three-year term as ASOR President (January 1, 2020-December 31, 2022): cv posted at <a href="http://www.asor.org/hidden/board-info">http://www.asor.org/hidden/board-info</a>.

- 7. Board Trustee Appointments (Susan Ackerman)
  - 7a. Ann Sahlman, for an initial three-year term, retroactive (January 1, 2019-December 31, 2021): biographical sketch posted at <a href="http://www.asor.org/hidden/board-info">http://www.asor.org/hidden/board-info</a>.
- 8. Committee Chair Appointments (Sharon Herbert)
  - 8a. Theodore Burgh, for an initial three-year term as Chair of the Membership and Outreach Committee (January 1, 2020-December 31, 2022): <a href="https://uncw.edu/par/faculty/faculty-burgh.html">https://uncw.edu/par/faculty/faculty-burgh.html</a> and <a href="https://uncw.edu/profiles/burgh\_theodore.html">https://uncw.edu/profiles/burgh\_theodore.html</a>; cv posted at <a href="http://www.asor.org/hidden/board-info">https://www.asor.org/hidden/board-info</a>.
- 9. Committee Appointments (Sharon Herbert)
  - 9a. Honors and Awards Committee
    - Lawson Younger, for a second three-year term (January 1, 2020-December 31, 2022):
       <a href="https://divinity.tiu.edu/academics/faculty/k-lawson-younger-jr-phd/">https://divinity.tiu.edu/academics/faculty/k-lawson-younger-jr-phd/</a>.
    - Mahri Leonard-Fleckman, for an initial three-year term, (January 1, 2020-December 31, 2022):
       <a href="https://www.holycross.edu/academics/programs/religious-studies/faculty/mahri-leonard-fleckman">https://www.holycross.edu/academics/programs/religious-studies/faculty/mahri-leonard-fleckman</a> and <a href="https://holycross.academia.edu/MahriLeonardFleckman">https://holycross.academia.edu/MahriLeonardFleckman</a>.
  - 9b. Publications Committee
    - •Eric Kansa, for a one-year term (to fill out the remaining year of Bill Caraher's term), retroactive (January 1, 2019-December 31, 2020): <a href="https://opencontext.org/about/people">https://opencontext.org/about/people</a> and <a href="https://dlab.berkeley.edu/people/eric-kansa">https://dlab.berkeley.edu/people/eric-kansa</a>.
    - Jake Lauinger, for an initial three-year term, retroactive (January 1, 2019-December 31, 2021):
       <a href="https://neareast.jhu.edu/directory/jacob-lauinger/">https://neareast.jhu.edu/directory/jacob-lauinger/</a> and <a href="https://johnshopkins.academia.edu/JacobLauinger">https://johnshopkins.academia.edu/JacobLauinger</a>.
    - Sam Wolff, for an initial three-year term, retroactive (January 1, 2019-December 31, 2021):
      <a href="https://independent.academia.edu/SamWolff">https://independent.academia.edu/SamWolff</a> and <a href="http://www.bu.edu/asor/news/2017/04/spotlight-wolff.html">http://www.bu.edu/asor/news/2017/04/spotlight-wolff.html</a>.
    - •Caroline Sauvage, for an initial three-year term, retroactive (January 1, 2019-December 31, 2021):

      <a href="https://bellarmine.lmu.edu/classics/faculty/?expert=caroline.sauvage">https://bellarmine.lmu.edu/classics/faculty/?expert=caroline.sauvage</a> uvage and https://lmu.academia.edu/CarolineSauvage.

## 9c. Early Career Scholars Committee

- •Owen Chesnut, for an initial three-year term, retroactive (January 1, 2019-December 31, 2021):
  - https://andrews.academia.edu/OwenChesnut/CurriculumVitae and https://andrews.academia.edu/OwenChesnut.
- •Tine Rassalle, for an initial three-year term, retroactive (January 1, 2019-December 31, 2021):

  https://roligion.unc.odu/.poople/graduate.students/tine
  - https://religion.unc.edu/\_people/graduate-students/tine-rassalle/ and http://tinerassalle.web.unc.edu/.

#### 9d. Program Committee

- R. Scott Moore, for an initial three-year term, retroactive (January 1, 2019-December 31, 2021):
   <a href="https://www.iup.edu/history/faculty/moore,-r--scott/">https://www.iup.edu/history/faculty/moore,-r--scott/</a> and <a href="https://rscottmoore.org/">https://rscottmoore.org/</a>.
- •Allison Thomason, for an initial three-year term, retroactive (January 1, 2019-December 31, 2021):

  <a href="https://www.siue.edu/artsandsciences/historicalstudies/thomason.">https://www.siue.edu/artsandsciences/historicalstudies/thomason.</a>
  ason.shtml and <a href="https://siue.academia.edu/AllisonThomason">https://siue.academia.edu/AllisonThomason</a>.
- 9e. Committee on Archaeological Research and Policy
  - •Tim Harrison, for a second three-year term, retroactive (January 1, 2019-December 31, 2021): <a href="https://nmc.utoronto.ca/faculty/t-p-harrison/">https://nmc.utoronto.ca/faculty/t-p-harrison/</a>.
  - Kate Grossman, for a second three-year term, retroactive (January 1, 2019-December 31, 2021):
     <a href="https://socant.chass.ncsu.edu/faculty\_staff/kmgross2">https://socant.chass.ncsu.edu/faculty\_staff/kmgross2</a> and https://ncsu.academia.edu/KathrynGrossman.
  - •Suzanne Pilaar Birch, for an initial three-year term, retroactive (January 1, 2019-December 31, 2021):

    <a href="http://anthropology.uga.edu/directory/people/suzanne-pilaar-birch">http://anthropology.uga.edu/directory/people/suzanne-pilaar-birch</a>.
  - •Robert Mullins, for an initial three-year term, retroactive (January 1, 2019-December 31, 2021):

    https://www.apu.edu/theology/faculty/ramullins/.
  - •Monique Vincent, for an initial three-year term, retroactive (January 1, 2019-December 31, 2021): <a href="https://wallawalla.academia.edu/MoniqueVincent">https://wallawalla.academia.edu/MoniqueVincent</a> and <a href="http://www.asor.org/fellowships/excavation-grants-fellowships/previous-fellowship-recipients/monique-vincent/">http://www.asor.org/fellowships/excavation-grants-fellowships/previous-fellowship-recipients/monique-vincent/</a>.
- 10. Treasurer's Report (Heather McKee)
  - 10a. Review and approve FY 2018 audited financial statements 10b. Adoption of the FY 2020 budget

- 10c. Thomas and Marilyn Schaub Legacy Gift
- 10d. Creation of permanently restricted funds for the Joe D. Seger Endowment for Excavation Support (retroactive) and the Stevan B. Dana Excavation Fellowships
- 10e. Amended Investment and Spending Policy
- 11. ASOR By-Laws Revision (Richard Coffman, Susan Ackerman)
- 12. 209 Commerce Street (Andy Vaughn, Susan Ackerman)
  - 12a. Board designated agent for purchase
  - 12b. Establishment of a Facilities Committee?
- 13. Committee Proposals, from CAP (Susan Ackerman)
  - 13a. New CAP Code of Conduct for Fieldwork Projects
  - 13b. CAP proposal regarding Excavation Fellowship Recipients for 2020 and beyond
- 14. Ad Hoc Committee for a Code of Conduct for the Annual Meeting (Susan Ackerman)
- 15. Other Business

### Break (10:45-11:00am)

### Discussion/Action Items (11:00am-12:30pm)

- 16. ASOR Ad Hoc Committee on the Future of the Annual Meeting (Susan Ackerman, Eric Welch)
- 17. Committee for the ASOR Policy on Professional Conduct (Tim Harrison)

## Reports (12:30-1:00pm)

- 18. Chairs Coordinating Council Report (Sharon Herbert)
- 19. CAORC (Rick Spees)
- 20. CAARI (Bryan Wilkins)
- 21. AIAR (JP Dessel)