

# ASOR Board of Trustees Meeting Marshall 490 12:00pm-5:30pm MST April 21, 2018

Lunch Available: 12:00pm-1:00pm

Preliminary Matters: 1:00pm-1:15pm

- 1. Call to Order and Introductions
- 2. Approval of Agenda
- 3. Approval of the Minutes from the November 2017 Board Meeting (November 19, 2017)
- 4. Remembering Jim Strange (Eric Meyers)

#### Business Items: 1:15pm-3:00pm

- 5. Board-Elected Trustee Appointment (Susan Ackerman)
- 6. Committee Appointments (Sharon Herbert)
  - 6a. Committee on Membership and Outreach
    - Cynthia Schafer Elliot, for an initial three-year term (January 1, 2018 December 31, 2020)
      - http://www.jessup.edu/about/directory/faculty/cynthia-shaferelliott/.
    - •Kyle Keimer, for an initial three-year term (January 1, 2018 December 31, 2020) -
      - https://www.mq.edu.au/about\_us/faculties\_and\_departments/fac

ulty\_of\_arts/department\_of\_ancient\_history/staff/dr\_kyle\_keime
r/.

#### 6b. Junior Scholars Committee

 Petra Creamer, for an initial three-year term as a Graduate Student Member (January 1, 2018 - December 31, 2020) -https://www.sas.upenn.edu/aamw/students/ - Creamer.

#### 7. Editorial Board Appointments (Sharon Herbert)

# 7a. NEA Class of 2018 (retroactive appointments)

- •Emily Hammer, for an initial three-year term on the Editorial Board of NEA (January 1, 2016 December 31, 2018) -- https://www.sas.upenn.edu/mec/people/EmilyHammer.
- •Richard S. Hess, for a second three-year term on the Editorial Board of NEA (January 1, 2016 December 31, 2018) -- https://denverseminary.edu/about/faculty/member/13474/.
- •Jason Ur, for a second three-year term on the Editorial Board of *NEA* (January 1, 2016 December 31, 2018) -- <a href="https://anthropology.fas.harvard.edu/people/jason-ur">https://anthropology.fas.harvard.edu/people/jason-ur</a> and <a href="https://scholar.harvard.edu/jasonur/home">https://scholar.harvard.edu/jasonur/home</a>.
- •Tasha Vorderstrasse, for an initial three-year term on the Editorial Board of *NEA* (January 1, 2016 December 31, 2018) -- <a href="https://nelc.uchicago.edu/faculty/vorderstrasse">https://nelc.uchicago.edu/faculty/vorderstrasse</a>.

#### 7b. NEA Class of 2019 (retroactive appointments)

- •Ömür Harmanşah, for a third three-year term on the Editorial Board of *NEA* (January 1, 2017 December 31, 2019) -- http://artandarthistory.uic.edu/profile/ömür-harmanşah.
- •Ann-Marie Knoblauch, for a third three-year term on the Editorial Board of *NEA* (January 1, 2017 December 31, 2019) -- http://www.sova.vt.edu/faculty/ann-marie-knoblauch/.
- •Miriam Müller, for an initial three-year term on the Editorial Board of NEA (January 1, 2017 December 31, 2019), following on an initial one-year term (January 1, 2016 December 31, 2016) -- <a href="https://www.universiteitleiden.nl/en/staffmembers/miriam-muller">https://www.universiteitleiden.nl/en/staffmembers/miriam-muller</a> tab-1.
- •K. Lawson Younger, for a third three-year term on the Editorial Board of NEA (January 1, 2017 December 31, 2019) -- <a href="https://divinity.tiu.edu/academics/faculty/k-lawson-younger-jr-phd/">https://divinity.tiu.edu/academics/faculty/k-lawson-younger-jr-phd/</a>.

### 7c. NEA Class of 2020

- •Alison Gruseke, for an initial three-year term on the Editorial Board of NEA (January 1, 2018 December 31, 2020) -- <a href="http://gts.edu/general-news/2017/11/29/alison-gruseke-connects-biblical-scholarship-personal-identity">http://gts.edu/general-news/2017/11/29/alison-gruseke-connects-biblical-scholarship-personal-identity</a>.
- •Lesley Gregoricka, for an initial three-year term on the Editorial Board of NEA (January 1, 2018 December 31, 2020) -- <a href="http://www.southalabama.edu/colleges/artsandsci/syansw/anthropology/lgregoricka.html">http://www.southalabama.edu/colleges/artsandsci/syansw/anthropology/lgregoricka.html</a>.
- •Lorenzo d'Alfonso, for an initial three-year term on the Editorial Board of *NEA* (January 1, 2018 December 31, 2020) -- http://isaw.nyu.edu/people/faculty/isaw-faculty/lorenzo-dalfonso.
- •Michael Langlois, for an initial three-year term on the Editorial Board of NEA (January 1, 2018 December 31, 2020) -- https://michaellanglois.fr/en/bio.
- 8. Officers Nominations Committee (Joe Seger)

8a. ASOR Vice-President8b. ASOR Secretary

9. Treasurer's Report (Heather McKee)

9a. Adoption of the FY 2019 budget

10. ASOR Policy Documents (Richard Coffman, Susan Ackerman)

10a. ASOR Gift Acceptance Policy10b. ASOR Trustee Pledge

- 11. Chairs Coordinating Council Report (Sharon Herbert)
- 12. Committee on the Policy on Professional Conduct report (Tim Harrison)
- 13. Other Business

# Break (3:00pm-3:15pm)

## Discussion Items (3:15pm-5:15pm)

- 14. ASOR's New Office (Susan Ackerman, Andy Vaughn)
- 15. ASOR Publishing Partner (Andy Vaughn)
- 16. ASOR Archives and Nelson Glueck Materials (Susan Ackerman, Joe Greene)
- 17. ASOR Bylaws (Susan Ackerman, Richard Coffman)

# Reports (5:15pm-5:30pm)

14. CAARI (Ann-Marie Knoblauch)

15. AIAR (Sharon Herbert and/or J.P. Dessel)

16. ACOR (Øystein LaBianca)