## **Junior Scholars Committee Action Points**

November 2013-April 2014

Report by Erin Darby and Robert Darby

Junior Scholars was made a standing committee at the 2013 ASOR Annual Meeting. Following that meeting the following steps were taken:

- A committee was formed in compliance with the new bylaws: Erin Darby and Robert Darby (University of Tennessee): co-chairs; Helen Dixon (North Carolina State University): post-graduate member; Kyle Knabb (University of California-San Diego) and Brian Coussens (University of North Carolina): student members. A third student member will be added in November 2014.
- The committee published a summary of its members, activities, and mandate in the ASOR electronic newsletter
- The committee is currently vetting ideas for the 2014 Junior Scholars Luncheon Panel Discussion
- The committee has recently launched a new initiative to gather information about student members after their doctoral graduation in order to advocate for a change in ASOR fee structures enabling early career PhDs without permanent TT positions or research accounts to maintain their memberships and participation.