FISCAL YEAR 2009 HONOR ROLL

Donor (up to \$100)

Mary Alice and Randy Akers

Benjamin Asher

John W. Betlyon

Robert C. Bigelow

Roger S. Boraas

Mark Chancey

Malcolm Clark

Eric Cline

Sidnie White Crawford

Arthur and Louise Durlesser

Trudy Ann Flournoy

Claire Gottlieb

William Hallo

Thomas H. Laity

Jodi Magness

David G. Norris

Betty Young O'Dell

Barbara A. Palson

Olga Pitcairn

Carolyn Rivers

Audrey Shaffer

Donald Seeley

H. Katherine Sheeler

Patty Jo Watson

Donald Whitcomb

Don Wimmer

Contributor (\$100 - \$249)

George & Peggy Ackerman

Matthew J. Adams

Ahmed Achrati

William S. Andreas

Randall C. Bailey

Helene F. Beltz

Scott B. Berger

Deborah Cantrell

Iames H. Charlesworth

Michael Danti

John D. Darst

Catherine Deans-Barrett

Bert DeVries

Peggy Duly

Sally S. Dunham

Linda Feinstone

Marjorie M. Fisher

Jack Forbus

Steven J. Garfinkel

Edward Gilbert

Sy Gitin

Gregory Glover

Angela Goodwin

Robert Haak

Lowell K. Handy

Danny & Blanchet Hardin

Myron Harrison

Barbara Renshaw Heineck

Marilyn P. Hodgson

Kenneth Holum

Michael M. Homan

James F. Joyner

Morag Kersel and Yorke Rowan

Mark Lalonde

Frederick M. Lauritsen

H. Elliott Lipschultz

Sandy Mermelstein

Eugene H. and Janet Merrill

Donald W. Morrison

Richard F. Natarian

Michael D. Oblath

Jane D. Peterson

John Poss

Donald B. Redford

Austin and Norma Ritterspach

Christopher H. Roosevelt

Jennifer C. Ross

Carol & Ryland Scott

Jack E. Seger

Claude Doumet Serhal

Hershel Shanks

Barbara Singer

Kenton L. Sparks

Olin J. Storvick

Tom Stoughton

Jean Sulzberger

Peter Swan

Stuart Swiny

Eugene Ulrich

Stewart and Joyce Vaughn

Jane Cahill West

Ray Willey

Donald Williford

Bryan Wilkins

Delaud L. Wing

Irene J. Winter

nene j. winter

Stephen Wyrick

Kenneth A. Yaw

Richard L. Zettler

Julianne Zimmerman

Supporter (\$250 - \$499)

Laird H. Barber

John R. Camp

Erick Egertson

Paul Fitzpatrick

Ernest S. Frerichs

Jürgen Friede

Paul Gaylo

Barry Gitlen

Ann E. Killebrew

Dale Manor

Beth Alpert Nakhai

David J. Rosenstein

Jane Waldbaum

Charles F. Weaver

James M. Weinstein

Joseph J. Weinstein

Sustainer (\$500 - \$999)

Gary Arbino

Bill Arnold

Elizabeth M. Bloch-Smith

Jeffrey R. Chadwick

Craig Cook

Jennie Ebeling

Nili Fox

Lawrence T. Geraty

Crawford H. Greenewalt

James W. Hardin

continued on page 9

DEVELOPMENT UPDATE FOR FISCAL YEAR 2009

JULY 1, 2008-JUNE 30, 2009

by Andrew G. Vaughn Executive Director

fter a banner year for development in fiscal year 2008, ASOR faced a challenge meeting its Annual Fund goal for FY09. During FY08 we broke records with almost \$260,000 in total giving, and \$124,000 in annual fund giving. In addition, we redirected \$31,000 of previously unrestricted giving to the endowment. ASOR's budget for FY09 (ending June 30, 2009) included \$100,000 for the Annual Fund, but we received just over \$65,900 in actual gifts. In order to make up for the shortage we did not replace one full-time staff position, and we also postponed planned purchases of equipment such as computers. Our need for FY09 was even greater because we chose not to take a distribution from our endowment due to the historic losses in the equity markets.

These are difficult economic times for everyone, and ASOR is no exception. Charitable giving has been down all across the United States, and ASOR has felt this reduction acutely. At the same time, I want to emphasize that ASOR is not in dire straits as in past years. Indeed, we are in sound fiscal shape. We have managed our expenses to take into account reduced giving, and ASOR will end up in the black when we take into account the combined fiscal years of FY08

and FY09—we had a slight surplus in FY08 that will offset a small projected deficit in FY09. I am also pleased that ASOR continued to grant fellowships for participation in the annual meeting, research, and summer excavation work. In spite of the challenging economic climate, we awarded 25 fellowships for archaeological fieldwork in the summer of 2009!

We are especially grateful to the friends of ASOR who contributed during FY09, and this issue of the Newsletter contains ASOR's Honor Roll of Donors for FY09. We are particularly grateful to board chair P.E. MacAllister who once again led the way in terms of donations. If you are not on this list of donors, I hope that you will consider a gift to ASOR so that you can help us make sure that we continue to accomplish our mission in Fiscal Year 2010 (July 1, 2009 – June 30, 2010).

	2007	2008	2009
Total Giving	\$173,773.75	\$258,719.92	\$108,888.08
Annual Fund Giving	\$97,207.95	\$124,339.72	\$65,920.44
Trustee Giving	\$89,813.41	\$129,114.64	\$72,956.57
Number of Individual			
Contributing	155	175	158 🗱

continued from page 8

Norma Kershaw

George Mendenhall

Robert and Hanan Mullins

Barbara A. Porter

Susanne Richard

Tammi Schneider

Susan G. Sheridan

Lydie T. Shufro

Howard Weintraub

Randall Younker

Sponsor (\$1,000 - \$4,999)

Susan Ackerman

Robert & Vivian Bull

Laurie and Charles Davis

Foundation for Biblical Archaeology

(Sheila Bishop)

Sheldon Fox

Nan Frederick

Timothy Harrison

Brauna J. Hartzell and

Jeffrey A. Blakely

Artemis and Martha Joukowsky

Marjorie Kiewit

Donald E. Kramer

Oystein S. LaBianca

George M. Landes

Gary Lindstrom (Lindstrom Foundation)

Christopher MacAllister

Sandy J. MacAllister

Eric and Carol Meyers

Alice & Thomas R. Pickering

R. Thomas & Marilyn Schaub

Wolfhart Schubach

Joe D. Seger

James F. and Carolyn Strange

The University of Texas at Austin

Andy and Amy Vaughn

Silas and Catherine Vaughn

Malcolm Hewitt Wiener Foundation

Friend (\$5,000 - \$9,999)

Orlyn Nelson

Patron (\$20,000 or more)

Boston University

P. E. MacAllister

Heritage members (contributed \$2500 towards

excavation scholarships

Laurie and Charles Davis

Sheldon Fox

Donald E. Kramer

Christopher MacAllister

P. E. MacAllister

Sandy J. MacAllister

Orlyn Nelson

Andy and Amy Vaughn

Silas and Catherine Vaughn

*