# COMMITTEE ON ANNUAL MEETING AND PROGRAM (CAMP)

Report for ASOR Executive Committee Meeting, November 22, 2008

Submitted by co-vice presidents Michael Homan and Morag Kersel.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank Kelley Bazydlo for all that she has done in regard to the Annual Meeting. She has made our jobs infinitely easier and we have had excellent reports from our committee chairs on her assistance with their tasks and issues. HUGE THANKS FROM US.

We would also like to thank Yorke Rowan and Jennie Ebeling for their service in the position of co-chairs of the annual meeting program. The AM has seen a growth in the number of sessions and participants since Jennie and Yorke took the helm – thanks!

# **ACTION ITEMS**

Approval requested of Elise Friedland and Andrew Smith as co-chairs of the Annual Meeting Program Committee.

## Plenary Speaker New Orleans 2009

Karel Van der Toorn has agreed to be the plenary speaker for the 2009 Annual Meeting in New Orleans. Work continues on other panels and proposals for the meeting.

## **Projects on Parade**

Fourteen CAP-affiliated projects will have posters on display throughout the book exhibit at the Annual Meeting. The formal poster presentations will take place of Saturday the 22<sup>nd</sup> over the lunch break.

## Annual Meeting Program Committee Report

Elise Friedland and Andrew Smith, both of the Department of Classical and Semitic Languages and Literature at The George Washington University have agreed to become co-chairs of the Annual Meeting Program Committee. Elise is a specialist in Roman art and archaeology, Roman sculpture, the Roman Near East, and museum studies and is the co-chair of the long-running Art and Artifacts session. Andrew specializes in the social and cultural history of the Greek and Roman Near East. The current committee members support these appointments.

#### **Annual Meeting Program Committee Members**

Jennie Ebeling and Yorke Rowan, Co-Chairs (out going) Elise Friedland and Andrew Smith, Co-Chairs (in coming) Aaron Brody Derek Counts Annlee Dolan Laura Mazow Beth Alpert Nakhai Nancy Serwint Michael Homan (ex-officio) Morag Kersel (ex-officio)

Honors and Awards Committee Report

### Honors and Awards Committee Members

Susan Sheridan, Chair Lauren Monroe Laura Mazow Louise Hitchcock John Spencer Yorke Rowan Michael Homan (ex-officio) Morag Kersel (ex-officio)

### Junior Scholars Committee Report

The Junior Scholars lunch will occur on Thursday of the Annual Meeting and the topic is academic publishing. Jim Eisenbraun and Jim Weinstein will speak. There will also be a Meet and Greet on Thursday after the Semitic Museum reception.

### **Junior Scholars Committee Members**

Jonathan Lawrence, Chair Debi Cassuto Mark Hammond Mary Larkin Aaron Ott Michael Homan (ex-officio) Morag Kersel (ex-officio)

# Lectures Committee Report

## **Lecture Committee Members**

Jacob Wright, Chair Oded Borowski Joe Greene Jane Grutz Bob Grutz Steve Ortiz Tammi Schneider Michael Homan (ex-officio) Morag Kersel (ex-officio)

# **Outreach Committee Report**

#### **Outreach Committee Members**

Ellen Bedell, Chair Neal Bierling Kimberly Connors Stefanie Elkins Tischa Entz Peter Feinman Pam Gaber Wade Kotter Michael Homan (ex-officio) Morag Kersel (ex-officio)

# **Regional Affiliations Committee Report**

### **Regional Affiliations Committee Members**

Suzanne Richard, Chair John Laughlin - SECSOR (Southeast Region) Jesse C. Long, Jr. - SW Commission of Religious Studies Gloria London - Pacific Northwest Region Vic Matthews - ASOR Central States K. Lawson Younger - ASOR Midwest Mark Chavalas - ASOR Upper Midwest Regions Suzanne Richard - Eastern Great Lakes Region Barry Gittlen - Mid-Atlantic Rami Arav - Rocky Mountains/Great Plains Beth Alpert Nakhai - Pacific Southwest Andy Vaughn – New England Region Michael Homan (ex-officio) Morag Kersel (ex-officio)